The Library of Misplaced Lovers

You have placed me with stacks of books
that you haven’t read but meant to
You found comfort in knowing
that I was here if you needed me
And I relied on the idea
that someday you would come look for me
But the books have piled up in your room
and I don’t even know if there’s a place for me
You would soon forget
you even had me
and my name wouldn’t even ring a bell
You would soon lose me
along with everything you didn’t care enough to set aside
It took me long enough to remember
that I am my own story
and I don’t need anyone to complete me
I could be read from cover to cover
and I would still be proud of who I am
Because I have accepted and forgiven everyone for what happened between the pages
I have forgiven you, too

 
1
Kudos
 
1
Kudos

Now read this

Don’t Let Your Lights Go Out

Underneath, the ground is shaking We could run all we want until the soles of our feet are aching But we’re all just stuck no matter where we go while we watch everything around us crumble We have built this city, but it has turned... Continue →