Salt Water

I am a series of waves
crashing into rocks,
battling for a life outside this shore

I am a large body of water
with secrets buried deep
and you have to be careful not to drown with them

I am a puzzle
built of uncharted spaces,
unraveling only at your fingertips

I am what you’re afraid of
if you don’t know how to swim
because I can’t promise that you’ll stay afloat

I am not what you want
if vastness terrifies you
and if you can only handle what you can touch

But I promise I will show you
how the sun sets, how the sun rises,
and how still it can be after a storm

 
1
Kudos
 
1
Kudos

Now read this

The Saddest Places

The disappointment I’ve tasted on him That uncovered beneath his mask of a face Was the one I couldn’t forget the most Not the way he called after me With tears that reflected rain on a Sunday morning Nor the way he kissed all my wounds... Continue →